is an improvised piece divided into 5 movements.

It is inspired by the term osei, a Japanese concept developed within the practice of Seitai. The word has its root in two Japanese words: oo (respond) and sei (faculty or quality).

Osei is based on the idea that each person responds to different stimulations in the form of 5 spontaneous movements. Each movement is connected to a biological activity and a psychic activity.

We, Duet Claudàtor, take these 5 spontaneous movements, the 5 osei and we explore them using pre-composed ideas and free improvisation. We take a certain movement as a starting point and use the psychic activity related to it (for example, being sociable) to construct a piece of music. The final result is the 5 movements of [osei] experienced live by our audience. We move, we listen and, most importantly, we let ourselves react spontaneously.

“Life is movement. The absence of movement supposes death.” – Katsumi Mamine (teacher of the practice of Seitai)



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s